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Bulletin 2020-1

To: Companies Authorized by the Commissioner of Insurance to Offer
Professional Liability Insurance to Kansas Health Care Providers

From: Clark Shultz, Executive Director, Health Care Stabilization Fund

Date: July 31, 2020

Subject: Surcharge Rates effective January 1, 2021

The Board of Governors of the Health Care Stabilization Fund has approved surcharge
rates for all categories of health care providers effective January 1, 2021. Please review
the following important information.

A. HCSF Class Groups for Chiropractors, Nurse Anesthetists, Physicians, and
Podiatrists: Insurers are to identify the HCSF rate classification number for each health
care provider based on profession and medical specialty. These are described on pages
4 — 6 of the Notice of Basic Coverage Instructions which can be found on our website.
The classification number of the individual health care provider will determine the
corresponding HCSF classification group. There are detailed instructions on pages 6 — 7
for health care providers who are in HCSF classification group 3. General descriptions of
each HCSF classification group for all categories of defined health care providers are
listed on page 8 of the instructions.

B. Annual Surcharge Rate Tables for Fund Class Groups 1 through 24: Insurers
must utilize the HCSF surcharge rate tables appended to this bulletin for purposes of
determining the surcharge payment for health care providers issued basic professional
liability insurance policies with effective dates on or after January 1, 2021. Please note
that these rate tables reflect a compression of the years of compliance factors from
previously three categories into just two categories. There is now a First Year of
Compliance category and a category for more than one year of compliance.

C. Notice of Termination: The provisions of K.S.A. 40-3402(a)(2) require that notice
of termination be provided to the HCSF Board of Governors 30 days prior to the
cancellation date if the termination is initiated by the insurer. If the cancellation is
initiated by the insured health care provider, the notice of termination must be

provided to the HCSF Board of Governors within ten days after termination of coverage.
If it is known that a health care provider will be purchasing another professional liability
insurance policy upon cancellation of existing coverage, please inform the HCSF Board of
Governors in the notice of cancellation. Your assistance is greatly appreciated.
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Health Care Stabilization Fund Surcharge Rates (Effective January 1, 2021 - December 31, 2021)
OPTION 1, per Kansas Statutes Annotated 40-3404
[$100,000 per claim subject to $300,000 annual aggregate limit]

2021 2021
Fund 1st Year >1 Year
Class General of Fund of Fund
Group Description Compliance Compliance
1 Physicians S 191 S 348
2 Physicians S 411 S 747
3 Physicians S 536 S 975
4 Physicians S 632 S 1,149
5 Physicians S 726 S 1,320
6 Physicians S 863 S 1,569
7 Physicians S 645 S 1,172
8 Physicians S 1,461 S 2,656
9 Physicians S 1,656 S 3,011
10 Physicians S 2,150 S 3,909
11 Physicians S 4,824 S 8,771
12 Chiropractors S 111 S 201
13 Nurse Anesthetists S 191 S 347
14 Podiatrists S 420 S 763
15 Availability Plan Insureds 28% 28%
16 Business Entities 22% 22%
17 Medical Care Facilities 23% 23%
18 Community Mental Health Centers 22% 22%
19 Psychiatric Hospital 22% 22%
20 Residents in Training 22% 22%
21 Physician Assistants 22% 22%
22 Nurse-Midwives 24% 24%
23 Assisted Living & Residential Health Care Facilities 22% 22%
24 Nursing Facilities 22% 22%
* The additional surcharge for Kansas resident health care providers with an active Missouri license is +30%.

* The minimum surcharge for any category of health care provider for any period of compliance is $100.



Health Care Stabilization Fund Surcharge Rates (Effective January 1, 2021 - December 31, 2021)
OPTION 2, per Kansas Statutes Annotated 40-3404
[$300,000 per claim subject to $900,000 annual aggregate limit]

2021 2021
Fund 1st Year >1 Year
Class General of Fund of Fund
Group Description Compliance Compliance

1 Physicians S 335 S 609
2 Physicians S 719 S 1,308
3 Physicians S 939 S 1,708
4 Physicians S 1,104 S 2,008
5 Physicians S 1,271 S 2,310
6 Physicians S 1,509 S 2,743
7 Physicians S 1,129 S 2,052
8 Physicians S 2,559 S 4,652
9 Physicians S 2,898 S 5,269
10 Physicians S 3,761 S 6,839
11 Physicians S 8,443 S 15,351
12 Chiropractors S 194 S 352
13 Nurse Anesthetists S 332 S 604
14 Podiatrists S 735 S 1,337
15 Availability Plan Insureds 43% 43%
16 Business Entities 33% 33%
17 Medical Care Facilities 35% 35%
18 Community Mental Health Centers 33% 33%
19 Psychiatric Hospital 33% 33%
20 Residents in Training 33% 33%
21 Physician Assistants 33% 33%
22 Nurse-Midwives 37% 37%
23 Assisted Living & Residential Health Care Facilities 33% 33%
24 Nursing Facilities 33% 33%
* The additional surcharge for Kansas resident health care providers with an active Missouri license is +30%.

* The minimum surcharge for any category of health care provider for any period of compliance is $100.



Health Care Stabilization Fund Surcharge Rates (Effective January 1, 2021 - December 31, 2021)
OPTION 3, per Kansas Statutes Annotated 40-3404
[$800,000 per claim subject to $2,400,000 annual aggregate limit]

2021 2021
Fund 1st Year >1 Year
Class General of Fund of Fund
Group Description Compliance Compliance
1 Physicians S 420 S 763
2 Physicians S 903 S 1,641
3 Physicians S 1,179 S 2,144
4 Physicians S 1,390 S 2,527
5 Physicians S 1,596 S 2,902
6 Physicians S 1,898 S 3,451
7 Physicians S 1,418 S 2,578
8 Physicians S 3,216 S 5,847
9 Physicians S 3,643 S 6,623
10 Physicians S 4,729 S 8,598
11 Physicians S 10,612 S 19,295
12 Chiropractors S 243 S 441
13 Nurse Anesthetists S 417 S 758
14 Podiatrists S 925 S 1,681
15 Availability Plan Insureds 49% 49%
16 Business Entities 38% 38%
17 Medical Care Facilities 40% 40%
18 Community Mental Health Centers 38% 38%
19 Psychiatric Hospital 38% 38%
20 Residents in Training 38% 38%
21 Physician Assistants 38% 38%
22 Nurse-midwives 42% 42%
23 Assisted Living & Residential Health Care Facilities 38% 38%
24 Nursing Facilities 38% 38%
* The additional surcharge for Kansas resident health care providers with an active Missouri license is +30%.

* The minimum surcharge for any category of health care provider for any period of compliance is $100.



