

## Bulletin 2019-1

TO:	Companies Authorized by the Commissioner of Insurance to Offer Professional
	Liability Insurance to Kansas Health Care Providers

FROM: Clark Shultz, Executive Director, Health Care Stabilization Fund

DATE: June 12, 2019

SUBJECT: Calendar Year 2020 HCSF Surcharge Rates and Related Information

The Board of Governors of the Health Care Stabilization Fund is charged by state law to study and evaluate the operation of the Fund. To ensure the viability of the Fund, the Board has approved revisions to the surcharge rates for all categories of health care providers effective January 1, 2020. Please review the following important information.

A. HCSF Class Groups for Chiropractors, Nurse Anesthetists, Physicians, and Podiatrists: Insurers are to identify the HCSF rate classification number for each health care provider based on his or her profession and medical specialty as described on pages 4 - 6 of the notice of basic coverage instructions. The classification number of the individual health care provider will determine the corresponding HCSF classification group. There are detailed instructions on pages 6 - 7 for health care providers who are in HCSF classification group 3. General descriptions of each HCSF classification group for all categories of defined health care providers are listed on page 8 of the instructions.

**B.** Annual Surcharge Rate Tables for Fund Class Groups 1 through 24: Insurers must utilize the HCSF surcharge rate tables appended to this bulletin for purposes of determining the surcharge payment for health care providers issued basic professional liability insurance policies with effective dates on or after January 1, 2020.

**C.** Notice of Termination: The provisions of K.S.A. 40-3402(a)(2) require that notice of termination be provided to the HCSF Board of Governors 30 days prior to the cancellation date if the termination is initiated by the insurer. If instead the cancellation is initiated by the insured health care provider, the notice of termination must be provided to the HCSF Board of Governors within ten days after termination of coverage.

If it is known that a health care provider will be purchasing another professional liability insurance policy upon cancellation of existing coverage, please inform the HCSF Board of Governors in the notice of cancellation. Your assistance will be appreciated.

Jeffery W. Glasgow, C.R.N.A. Donald W. Hatton, M.D. Kevin D. McFarland John W. Mize, J.D., Vice-Chairman Steven R. Short, D.O. Travis W. Stembridge, M.D. Robert N. Wright, M.B.A., C.P.A.

OPTION 1, per Kansas Statutes Annotated 40-3404	
[\$100,000 per claim subject to \$300,000 annual aggregate limit]	

[\$100,000 per claim subject to \$300,000 annual aggregate limit]									
			2020		2020		2020		
Fund			1st Year		2nd Year		>2 Years		
Class	General	0	f Fund	0	f Fund	0	f Fund		
<u>Group</u>	Description	<u>Compliance</u>		<u>Compliance</u>		<u>Compliance</u>			
1	Physicians	\$	166	\$	298	\$	331		
2	Physicians	\$	374	\$	672	\$	747		
3	Physicians	\$	488	\$	878	\$	975		
4	Physicians	\$	575	\$	1,034	\$	1,149		
5	Physicians	\$	629	\$	1,131	\$	1,257		
6	Physicians	\$	785	\$	1,412	\$	1,569		
7	Physicians	\$	586	\$	1,055	\$	1,172		
8	Physicians	\$	1,328	\$	2,390	\$	2,656		
9	Physicians	\$	1,434	\$	2,581	\$	2,868		
10	Physicians	\$	1,955	\$	3,518	\$	3,909		
11	Physicians	\$	4,177	\$	7,518	\$	8,353		
12	Chiropractors	\$	101	\$	181	\$	201		
13	Nurse Anesthetists	\$	174	\$	312	\$	347		
14	Podiatrists	\$	382	\$	687	\$	763		
15	Availability Plan Insureds	27%		27%		27%			
16	Business Entities		22%		22%		22%		
17	Medical Care Facilities	22%		22%		22%			
18	Community Mental Health Centers	22%		22%		22%			
19	Psychiatric Hospital		22%		22%		22%		
20	Residents in Training	22%		22%		22%			
21	Physician Assistants		22%		22%		22%		
22	Nurse-Midwives		23%	23%			23%		
23	Assisted Living & Residential Health Care Facilities		22%		22%		22%		
24	Nursing Facilities		22%		22%		22%		

\* The additional surcharge for Kansas resident health care providers with an active Missouri license is +30%.

\* The minimum surcharge for any category of health care provider for any period of compliance is \$100.

## Health Care Stabilization Fund Surcharge Rates (Effective January 1, 2020 - December 31, 2020)

OPTION 2, per Kansas Statutes Annotated 40-3404
[\$300,000 per claim subject to \$900,000 annual aggregate limit]

[\$300,000 per claim subject to \$900,000 annual aggregate limit]									
			2020		2020		2020		
Fund			1st Year		2nd Year		>2 Years		
Class	General		of Fund		of Fund		of Fund		
<u>Group</u>	Description	<u>Cor</u>	<u>Compliance</u>		mpliance	<u>Compliance</u>			
1	Physicians	\$	290	\$	522	\$	580		
2	Physicians	\$	654	\$	1,177	\$	1,308		
3	Physicians	\$	854	\$	1,537	\$	1,708		
4	Physicians	\$	1,004	\$	1,807	\$	2,008		
5	Physicians	\$	1,100	\$	1,980	\$	2,200		
6	Physicians	\$	1,372	\$	2,469	\$	2,743		
7	Physicians	\$	1,026	\$	1,847	\$	2,052		
8	Physicians	\$	2,326	\$	4,187	\$	4,652		
9	Physicians	\$	2,509	, \$	4,516	\$	5,018		
10	Physicians	, \$	3,420	\$	6,155	, \$	6,839		
11	Physicians	\$	, 7,310	\$	13,158	\$	, 14,620		
12	Chiropractors	\$	176	\$	317	\$	352		
13	Nurse Anesthetists	\$	302	\$	544	\$	604		
14	Podiatrists	\$	669	\$	1,203	\$	1,337		
15	Availability Plan Insureds		41%	41%		41%			
16	Business Entities		33%		33%		33%		
17	Medical Care Facilities		33%		33%		33%		
18	Community Mental Health Centers		33%	33%			33%		
19	Psychiatric Hospital		33%		33%		33%		
20	Residents in Training		33%		33%		33%		
21	Physician Assistants		33%		33%		33%		
22	Nurse-Midwives		35%		35%		35%		
23	Assisted Living & Residential Health Care Facilities		33%		33%		33%		
24	Nursing Facilities		33%		33%		33%		

\* The additional surcharge for Kansas resident health care providers with an active Missouri license is +30%.

\* The minimum surcharge for any category of health care provider for any period of compliance is \$100.

## Health Care Stabilization Fund Surcharge Rates (Effective January 1, 2020 - December 31, 2020)

[\$800,000 per claim subject to \$2,400,000 annual aggregate limit]									
			2020	2020		2020			
Fund	1st Year		st Year	2nd Year		>2 Years			
Class	General	0	f Fund	C	of Fund	0	f Fund		
<u>Group</u>	Description	<u>Con</u>	<u>Compliance</u>		<u>mpliance</u>	<u>Compliance</u>			
1	Physicians	\$	364	\$	654	\$	727		
2	Physicians	\$	821	\$	1,477	\$	1,641		
3	Physicians	\$	1,072	\$	1,930	\$	2,144		
4	Physicians	\$	1,264	\$	2,274	\$	2,527		
5	Physicians	\$	1,382	\$	2,488	\$	2,764		
6	Physicians	\$	1,726	\$	3,106	\$	3,451		
7	Physicians	\$	1,289	\$	2,320	\$	2,578		
8	Physicians	\$	2,924	\$	5,262	\$	5,847		
9	Physicians	\$	3,154	\$	5,677	\$	6,308		
10	Physicians	\$	4,299	\$	7,738	\$	8,598		
11	Physicians	\$	9,188	\$	16,538	\$	18,376		
12	Chiropractors	\$	221	\$	397	\$	441		
13	Nurse Anesthetists	\$	379	\$	682	\$	758		
14	Podiatrists	\$	841	\$	1,513	\$	1,681		
15	Availability Plan Insureds		47%		47%	47%			
16	Business Entities		38%		38%		38%		
17	Medical Care Facilities	38%		38%		38%			
18	Community Mental Health Centers	38%		38%		38%			
19	Psychiatric Hospital		38%		38%		38%		
20	Residents in Training		38%		38%		38%		
21	Physician Assistants		38%		38%		38%		
22	Nurse-midwives		40%	40%			40%		
23	Assisted Living & Residential Health Care Facilities		38%		38%		38%		
24	Nursing Facilities	38%		38%		38%			

## OPTION 3, per Kansas Statutes Annotated 40-3404 [\$800.000 per claim subject to \$2,400.000 annual aggregate limit]

\* The additional surcharge for Kansas resident health care providers with an active Missouri license is +30%.

\* The minimum surcharge for any category of health care provider for any period of compliance is \$100.